Book Review: A Woman Once a girl-Breaking Silence by Betty Makoni

Book Review: A Woman Once a girl-Breaking Silence by Betty Makoni
Published: 25 January 2012 (1466 Views)
The time to break silence is right here and now. Womanhood and motherhood are under attack!!!!

A mother experienced violence, and her daughter, aged six, stood up and urged her to report. She suppressed her voice and silenced her poetically with a “Shh, we don’t say domestic things in public.”
A few years later, the mother died in cold blood after heavy beatings by her husband. It led Betty Makoni to be a mother at age nine, and the book takes readers through a journey of inner pain that is unleashed when she becomes a globally acclaimed activist.

The journey Betty Makoni has trod leaves permanent and visible footsteps. Today, her poetry book takes a new approach to self-empowerment by presenting breaking culture of silence - poetic prose verses in short story form. Easy to read and yet very powerful for reflection and evoking you. The stories are personal experiences, and there is a poem for everyone to easily connect to a situation similar to their own experiences.

The poetic prose storybook is a forerunner of Betty Makoni's official much-awaited biography. Her trials and tribulations as she tried to be a woman, a leader, a wife, and a mother and balance all these
roles is an open testimony. Transitioning from being a girl to becoming a woman is with hurdles
and hardships, and A Woman, Once a Girl: Breaking Silence takes a sigh of relief that mission is accomplished as one overcomes gender inequality and wars being fought against their bodies and breaks vicious cycles of poverty and gender-based violence.

Using simple poetic verse, she has shared everyday stories that may be taken for granted and yet can
Undermine an individual’s abilities. This book is for anyone defending their rights and those of the most vulnerable. It speaks to you to keep positive energy.

Two verses of her opening poem entitled, Anger made me a poet she sums what the book is about.

When it hurts my heart
I find poetry soothing
Then I feel a sharpest phew
A release and a relief
I let go anger
It mocks and mops
I let go tears and they are wiped away
When I feel disappointed I use poetry to reappoint
I rejoin poetically


Here then is poetry for passion
Poetry to make and not break
Poetry to touch and not torture
Poetry I breathe and bring
Poetry I play and party
Poetry I pass on
Poetry I put right here

According to Betty Makoni, `We are born victorious and not victims.
This poetry book gives a holistic empowerment package to those feeling hopeless, rejected, abused, and undermined in any way. The poems are real-life experiences that you can always derive inspiration from.

(Order a copy here: Link)

- Betty Makoni

 0

You May Like These Videos

Comments

There are no comments.

Latest stories

Knox Mutizwa wins August Goal of the Month award

by kickoff | 05 November 2018 | 693 Views

BREAKING: Gandawa on the run

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 1360 Views

Econet cannot distribute Kwese TV content to Zimbabwean viewers

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 1030 Views

Shoot-out robbers arrested

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 1067 Views

Mnangagwa ally warns economic saboteurs

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 1050 Views

Chamisa mobilises supporters for mass protests

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 862 Views

LISTEN: Acie Lumumba speaks on how he got paid

by Staff Reporter | 05 November 2018 | 705 Views

Dzamara speak on Zanu-PF fights

by Mandla Ndlovu | 05 November 2018 | 674 Views

Minister Raj Modi Modi donates salary

by Mandla Ndlovu | 05 November 2018 | 552 Views

'I am a Trillionaire' Magaya says

by Mandla Ndlovu | 05 November 2018 | 923 Views

Supermarkets to be blacklisted over cooking oil

by Mandla Ndlovu | 05 November 2018 | 584 Views

UK army to recruit from Commonwealth

by BBC | 05 November 2018 | 608 Views

Magaya opens up on arrest

by Mandla Ndlovu | 05 November 2018 | 605 Views

Kambarami is still 'Deputy Mayor'

by Mandla Ndlovu | 05 November 2018 | 480 Views

'Import ban must not go beyond December 21'

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 569 Views

Prophet Magaya puts fresh spin to arrest

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 564 Views

Chamisa's sign language interpreters get thumps up

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 544 Views

Mnangagwa to review Mthuli Ncube's 2% tax again

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 535 Views

Lumumba to be probed by ZAAC?

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 391 Views

Dzamara speak on ZANU PF fights

by Mandla Ndlovu | 05 November 2018 | 356 Views

Zimbabwe as a new gateway into Africa

by Minister of Finance Prof Mthuli Ncube | 05 November 2018 | 549 Views

Chiwenga's ex-wife looted millions

by Mandla Ndlovu | 05 November 2018 | 889 Views

We are our own worst enemies

by Mapozho Saruchera | 05 November 2018 | 598 Views

Mnangagwa to deal with unexplained wealth and bank deposits

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 577 Views

WATCH: Chiwenga talks about Prophet Walter Magaya's lipstick

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 554 Views

Lumumba Saga takes new twist....War vets bay for Mutsvangwa's blood

by Mandla Ndlovu | 05 November 2018 | 638 Views

Chamisa demands Presidency

by Mandla Ndlovu | 05 November 2018 | 528 Views

Zimbabwean teachers miss out on New Zealand opportunity

by Staff Writer | 05 November 2018 | 466 Views

Zimbabwe to introduce e-provisional driver's exams

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 501 Views

Zimbabwe to supply water to South Africa

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 503 Views

Mnangagwa claims that 'good times will soon roll'

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 486 Views

Zimbabwe as a new gateway into Africa

by Hon. Prof Mthuli Ncube | 05 November 2018 | 543 Views

Chiyangwa appoint Karikoga Kaseke

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 485 Views

ZCTU demo: Ruling today

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 435 Views

Missing cop found dead

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 558 Views

Tagwirei marries long-time girlfriend

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 856 Views

Zimbabwe relaxes maternity leave entitlement

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 518 Views

Zimbabwe to receive drugs, ambulances from India

by Staff reporter | 05 November 2018 | 438 Views