Book Review: A Woman Once a girl-Breaking Silence by Betty Makoni

Book Review: A Woman Once a girl-Breaking Silence by Betty Makoni
Published: 25 January 2012 (1278 Views)
The time to break silence is right here and now. Womanhood and motherhood are under attack!!!!

A mother experienced violence, and her daughter, aged six, stood up and urged her to report. She suppressed her voice and silenced her poetically with a “Shh, we don’t say domestic things in public.”
A few years later, the mother died in cold blood after heavy beatings by her husband. It led Betty Makoni to be a mother at age nine, and the book takes readers through a journey of inner pain that is unleashed when she becomes a globally acclaimed activist.

The journey Betty Makoni has trod leaves permanent and visible footsteps. Today, her poetry book takes a new approach to self-empowerment by presenting breaking culture of silence - poetic prose verses in short story form. Easy to read and yet very powerful for reflection and evoking you. The stories are personal experiences, and there is a poem for everyone to easily connect to a situation similar to their own experiences.

The poetic prose storybook is a forerunner of Betty Makoni's official much-awaited biography. Her trials and tribulations as she tried to be a woman, a leader, a wife, and a mother and balance all these
roles is an open testimony. Transitioning from being a girl to becoming a woman is with hurdles
and hardships, and A Woman, Once a Girl: Breaking Silence takes a sigh of relief that mission is accomplished as one overcomes gender inequality and wars being fought against their bodies and breaks vicious cycles of poverty and gender-based violence.

Using simple poetic verse, she has shared everyday stories that may be taken for granted and yet can
Undermine an individual’s abilities. This book is for anyone defending their rights and those of the most vulnerable. It speaks to you to keep positive energy.

Two verses of her opening poem entitled, Anger made me a poet she sums what the book is about.

When it hurts my heart
I find poetry soothing
Then I feel a sharpest phew
A release and a relief
I let go anger
It mocks and mops
I let go tears and they are wiped away
When I feel disappointed I use poetry to reappoint
I rejoin poetically


Here then is poetry for passion
Poetry to make and not break
Poetry to touch and not torture
Poetry I breathe and bring
Poetry I play and party
Poetry I pass on
Poetry I put right here

According to Betty Makoni, `We are born victorious and not victims.
This poetry book gives a holistic empowerment package to those feeling hopeless, rejected, abused, and undermined in any way. The poems are real-life experiences that you can always derive inspiration from.

(Order a copy here: Link)

- Betty Makoni

 0

You May Like These Videos

Comments

There are no comments.

Latest stories

Zimbabwean family leaves Bangkok after living at airport for 3 months

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 33 Views

Law maker on the run

by Simbarashe Sithole | 23 January 2018 | 35 Views

Sekeramayi preaches peace as he praises Mnangagwa

by Stephen Jakes | 23 January 2018 | 41 Views

MDC hypocrisy exposed

by Prosperity Mzila | 23 January 2018 | 30 Views

King Nadolo in a fix

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 21 Views

Trevor Dongo bashed again

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 21 Views

Olinda's dirty tricks!

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 25 Views

Dembare star still toothless

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 22 Views

Unrealistic expectations on the first hundred days of the president

by Dr Masimba Mavaza | 23 January 2018 | 104 Views

The tragedy of littering

by Clive Chiridza | 23 January 2018 | 60 Views

The Future of Gambling in Southern Africa

by Staff Reporter | 23 January 2018 | 48 Views

How's Zimbabwe's gaming scene compared to USA gaming scene?

by Staff Reporter | 23 January 2018 | 42 Views

Confusion as Zimbabwe promises review of elephant exports amidst global condemnation

by Adam Cruise and Christina Russo | 23 January 2018 | 51 Views

Financial scandal rocks Zimbabwe police

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 101 Views

Zesa workers demand 75% salary raise

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 98 Views

Duty on fuel reduced

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 90 Views

Chivayo deals: Heads to roll at Zesa

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 93 Views

Queen seeking to reconcile Britain with Zimbabwe

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 139 Views

Cop acquitted of Charamba insult

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 97 Views

Man loses $100,000 cash to robbers

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 99 Views

Chiefs' cars not vote-buying

by Nick Mangwana | 23 January 2018 | 71 Views

Zesa insolvent, expects increased loss

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 57 Views

2 new opposition parties unveiled

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 92 Views

No electric train for Bulawayo, but Mutare-Harare on cards

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 75 Views

Mnangagwa to name Zanu-PF's elections directorate

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 72 Views

Mzembi, Undenge back in court

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 58 Views

Merlin readies to resume production

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 76 Views

New war vets association on the cards

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 73 Views

Bus war kidnap drama

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 81 Views

D-day for Maphepha

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 60 Views

Charamba denies clips on social media

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 99 Views

Headmaster collapses, dies

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 182 Views

Scramble to meet Mnangagwa at World Economic Forum?

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 119 Views

'Zisco debt must be audited'

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 59 Views

Beitbridge border post ceiling collapses

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 40 Views

Heads to roll at Zesa

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 46 Views

Bulawayo Bomber to face Knife

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 88 Views

Midget poses as goblin

by Staff reporter | 23 January 2018 | 36 Views