Book Review: A Woman Once a girl-Breaking Silence by Betty Makoni

Book Review: A Woman Once a girl-Breaking Silence by Betty Makoni
Published: 25 January 2012 (1506 Views)
The time to break silence is right here and now. Womanhood and motherhood are under attack!!!!

A mother experienced violence, and her daughter, aged six, stood up and urged her to report. She suppressed her voice and silenced her poetically with a “Shh, we don’t say domestic things in public.”
A few years later, the mother died in cold blood after heavy beatings by her husband. It led Betty Makoni to be a mother at age nine, and the book takes readers through a journey of inner pain that is unleashed when she becomes a globally acclaimed activist.

The journey Betty Makoni has trod leaves permanent and visible footsteps. Today, her poetry book takes a new approach to self-empowerment by presenting breaking culture of silence - poetic prose verses in short story form. Easy to read and yet very powerful for reflection and evoking you. The stories are personal experiences, and there is a poem for everyone to easily connect to a situation similar to their own experiences.

The poetic prose storybook is a forerunner of Betty Makoni's official much-awaited biography. Her trials and tribulations as she tried to be a woman, a leader, a wife, and a mother and balance all these
roles is an open testimony. Transitioning from being a girl to becoming a woman is with hurdles
and hardships, and A Woman, Once a Girl: Breaking Silence takes a sigh of relief that mission is accomplished as one overcomes gender inequality and wars being fought against their bodies and breaks vicious cycles of poverty and gender-based violence.

Using simple poetic verse, she has shared everyday stories that may be taken for granted and yet can
Undermine an individual’s abilities. This book is for anyone defending their rights and those of the most vulnerable. It speaks to you to keep positive energy.

Two verses of her opening poem entitled, Anger made me a poet she sums what the book is about.

When it hurts my heart
I find poetry soothing
Then I feel a sharpest phew
A release and a relief
I let go anger
It mocks and mops
I let go tears and they are wiped away
When I feel disappointed I use poetry to reappoint
I rejoin poetically


Here then is poetry for passion
Poetry to make and not break
Poetry to touch and not torture
Poetry I breathe and bring
Poetry I play and party
Poetry I pass on
Poetry I put right here

According to Betty Makoni, `We are born victorious and not victims.
This poetry book gives a holistic empowerment package to those feeling hopeless, rejected, abused, and undermined in any way. The poems are real-life experiences that you can always derive inspiration from.

(Order a copy here: Link)

- Betty Makoni

 0

You May Like These Videos

Comments

There are no comments.

Latest stories

Looting soldier shot during protests

by Mandla Ndlovu | 17 January 2019 | 271 Views

How drug offences can affect your life

by Staff Reporter | 17 January 2019 | 81 Views

Zimbabweans march to ANC headquaters over Mnangagwa

by Mandla Ndlovu | 17 January 2019 | 173 Views

Mnangagwa meets Belarus President

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 97 Views

Who used the extra 480 million litres of fuel the last six months?'

by Staff rpeorter | 17 January 2019 | 144 Views

Mnangagwa signs 8 MOUs in Belarus

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 99 Views

Govt meets transporters over fares

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 117 Views

Military in civilian life: lessons from the fall of Mugabe

by The Source News Agency | 17 January 2019 | 89 Views

'Zimbabwe potential hub for industrial development in Africa'

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 80 Views

ZRP heightens crackdown against criminals

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 79 Views

Zimbabwe counts huge costs of stay-away

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 46 Views

Zesa dismisses social media messages

by Staff rpeorter | 17 January 2019 | 80 Views

Gun-wielding soldiers assault Daily news staff

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 82 Views

Mnangagwa's re-engagement efforts with Western countries is dead

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 85 Views

Police should probe vandalism, looting

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 75 Views

Military door-to-door raids slammed

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 76 Views

Trial of 'Shut-down' protesters fast-tracked

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 67 Views

'Internet shutdown draconian'

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 67 Views

MDC Alliance's Chibaya remanded in custody

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 37 Views

How to win at slots? Top slot tips & tricks

by Staff Reporter | 17 January 2019 | 78 Views

Stay away: A manifestation of the MDC's violence DNA

by Nobleman Runyanga | 17 January 2019 | 116 Views

Kirsty Coventry has not resigned from ministry

by Mandla Ndlovu | 17 January 2019 | 111 Views

Mnangagwa and Gen Chiwenga responsible for lootings, shootings and terrorism

by Dr Nkululeko Sibanda (Presidential Spokesperson) | 17 January 2019 | 149 Views

A tale of a school teacher

by Virimayi Chidembo | 17 January 2019 | 119 Views

My encounter with the rowdy protestors

by Betty Gatsi | 17 January 2019 | 89 Views

Price of bread now $6

by Mandla Ndlovu | 17 January 2019 | 130 Views

The unleashing of army to descend on demonstrators was uncalled for

by Leonard Koni | 17 January 2019 | 79 Views

How Facebook and Whatsapp fuelled chaos and confusion in Zimbabwe

by Dr Masimba Mavaza | 17 January 2019 | 79 Views

Mnangagwa pleased with Putin meeting

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 146 Views

Mnangagwa opens consulate in Belarus

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 160 Views

MDC perpetrating violence, violating human rights

by Anesu Pedzisayi | 17 January 2019 | 159 Views

3 Religious Sites to Visit When in Israel

by Staff Reporter | 17 January 2019 | 104 Views

BREAKING: Evan Mawarire charged with treason

by Mandla Ndlovu | 17 January 2019 | 249 Views

'100 men abaducted in Matabeland during protests'

by Mandla Ndlovu | 17 January 2019 | 152 Views

Army continues terror as Bulawayo is shutdown

by Mandla Ndlovu | 17 January 2019 | 312 Views

Here's what motorists are paying for fuel around the world

by wheels24 | 17 January 2019 | 249 Views

Bond notes and their possible long-term legacy

by Staff reporter | 17 January 2019 | 177 Views